Skip to content

Who we are

Who's Who in Research and Knowledge Exchange at Sheffield Institute of Education


Key contacts

Professor Tim Jay
Acting Head of Research
t.jay@shu.ac.uk

Dr Mike Coldwell,
Head of the Centre for Development and Research in Education
m.r.coldwell@shu.ac.uk

Dr Bronwen Maxwell
Head of Commissioned Research
Deputy head of the Centre for Development and Research in Education
b.maxwell@shu.ac.uk

Dr Emily Perry
Head of Knowledge Exchange
Deputy head of the Centre for Development and Research in Education
e.perry@shu.ac.uk

Dr Gill Adams
Head of postgraduate research study
g.adams@shu.ac.uk

Mr Ian Chesters
Research Support Manager
i.chesters@shu.ac.uk

Our Professors and Readers in Education

Professor Mark Boylan
Professor of Education

Professor Cathy Burnett
Professor of Literacy and Education

Dr Eleanor Formby
Reader in Sociology and Youth Studies

Professor Nick Hodge
Professor in Education, Childhood & Inclusion

Professor Tim Jay
Professor of Psychology of Education

Professor Colin McCaig
Professor of Higher Education Policy

Professor Guy Merchant
Professor of Literacy in Education

Professor Hilary Povey
Professor in Mathematics Education

Dr Jen Slater
Reader in Education and Disability Studies


Find all SIoE research and knowledge exchange staff in our directory

Share this page

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?

Close