Skip to content

  1. About us
  2. Our people
  3. Honorary awards

Honorary awards

  • Dame Christine Beasley DBE

    Christine was appointed the Government's Chief Nursing Officer (CNO) in 2004 and is the Director General in the Department of Health for Professional Leadership and for Partnerships for Children, Families and Maternity.

  • Christopher J Jewitt DL

    Christopher is a dedicated and active member of the South Yorkshire community. In 1994 he served as Master Cutler of the Company of Cutlers in Hallamshire and was appointed a Deputy Lieutenant for South Yorkshire in 1996.

  • Dame Kelly Holmes

    Kelly Holmes was born in Kent but has a special connection with Sheffield, training in the city before her gold medal winning exploits at the 2004 Athens Olympics and choosing to run her final race before retirement at Don Valley Stadium.

  • Dame Margaret Drabble DBE CBE

    As a novelist, Margaret has cast her sharp and intellectual eye on life, particularly on women's lives, in seventeen novels from A Summer Bird Cage (1963) to the thought-provoking The Sea Lady (2007).

  • Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson

    Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson has clinched 11 Paralympic gold medals and is hailed as one of Britain's most influential sports personalities.

  • David Brailsford CBE

    David Brailsford, director of the most successful British cycling team in history, is the force behind the transformation in British Cycling. His team brought back a record haul of 14 medals in 2008's Olympics in Beijing.

  • David Burrows

    Recently appointed director of business strategy and marketing at Microsoft UK Public Sector, David Burrows was previously the company's director of Education and Skills Development.

  • David Elleray

    David Elleray is one of the UK's longest-standing sporting ambassadors. He was one of England's youngest-ever football referees at the age of just 13 and he has refereed football matches on four continents.

  • Dominic West

    Dominic is a distinguished classical actor who became an international star through his portrayal of Detective Jimmy McNulty in the cult American TV series, The Wire.

  • Dr Adam Hart-Davis

    For the public at large, Dr Adam Hart-Davis has become the most popular and understandable face of science and technology, recognisable by many as the presenter on a mountain bike in fluorescent pink and yellow.

The degree of Doctor of the University (D.Univ) is awarded to people who have achieved distinction in the fields of learning, the arts, public life, community service and/or have made a distinctive contribution to Sheffield Hallam University, the city of Sheffield or the region. Nominations are invited annually from the University’s staff, students and Governors; we do not invite nominations from the public.

Sheffield Hallam University has been awarding honorary doctorates since gaining status as a university in 1993; it has been awarding honorary fellowships, based on similar criteria, since 1969.

See below for this year's honorary doctorates or you can also view the archive of honorary awards.

If you would like to find out more about our honorary award recipients, please email our press office.

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?