Skip to content

  1. About us
  2. Our people
  3. Honorary awards

Honorary awards

  • Professor Chris Baines

    Chris Baines is one of the UK's leading independent environmentalists and an award winning writer and broadcaster.

  • Anthony d'Offay

    Born in Sheffield in 1940, Anthony d'Offay's love of art began at a young age with regular trips to the museum and art gallery in New Walk in Leicester with his mother.

  • Brian Blessed

    Mexborough-born and the son of a coal miner, Brian Blessed's varied and distinguished career has made him one of the country's most highly respected actors.

  • Brian Lewis

    In 1994 Brian Lewis left the Yorkshire Art Circus, a community based arts charity he helped create 15 years earlier, and formed Pontefract Press.

  • Dominic West

    Dominic is a distinguished classical actor who became an international star through his portrayal of Detective Jimmy McNulty in the cult American TV series, The Wire.

  • Jenny Watson

    Jenny was appointed Chair of the Electoral Commission in 2009 and has had a long, varied and successful career in the voluntary, public and private sectors.

  • Joe Cocker

    Born and bred in Sheffield, Joe has built an international reputation as a singer and has been called the 'world's greatest blue's singer'. He made a well publicised recovery from drug dependency and now seeks to educate against the dangers of drugs.

  • Joe Simpson

    Touching the Void, Joe Simpson's amazing story of grit and determination not to die in the Andes in 1985, has resulted in a best-selling book and the most successful British documentary in cinema history.

  • Jane Priestman OBE

    Jane Priestman has a distinguished career in design and design management. She is also a member of the panel that is going to be advising on the new building for the London Mayor and Assembly. Jane was awarded and OBE for her work in design.

  • Janet Barnes

    Janet Barnes is Chief Executive of the York Museums Trust and has been a museum and art gallery professional for over 29 years.

The degree of Doctor of the University (D.Univ) is awarded to people who have achieved distinction in the fields of learning, the arts, public life, community service and/or have made a distinctive contribution to Sheffield Hallam University, the city of Sheffield or the region. Nominations are invited annually from the University’s staff, students and Governors; we do not invite nominations from the public.

Sheffield Hallam University has been awarding honorary doctorates since gaining status as a university in 1993; it has been awarding honorary fellowships, based on similar criteria, since 1969.

See below for this year's honorary doctorates or you can also view the archive of honorary awards.

If you would like to find out more about our honorary award recipients, please email our press office.

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?