Skip to content

Honorary awards

  1. About us
  2. Our people
  3. Honorary awards

Honorary awards

  • Dame Christine Beasley DBE

    Christine was appointed the Government's Chief Nursing Officer (CNO) in 2004 and is the Director General in the Department of Health for Professional Leadership and for Partnerships for Children, Families and Maternity.

  • Chris Rea

    Chris Rea is managing director of Sheffield-based manufacturers, AESSEAL, a global manufacturing business that makes mechanical seals.

  • Professor Chris Baines

    Chris Baines is one of the UK's leading independent environmentalists and an award winning writer and broadcaster.

  • Brian Turner CBE

    Brian Turner is one of Britain's most successful and well known chefs. In addition to running highly respected restaurants across the UK he has become a successful television personality.

  • Dr Cheryle Berry

    Dr Berry taught for 30 years, including 15 years as a headteacher of large secondary schools. From 1989 to 1998, she was headteacher at High Storrs School in Sheffield and greatly enjoyed working with Sheffield Hallam University on research projects, leadership programmes and graduate teacher placements.

  • Brian Lewis

    In 1994 Brian Lewis left the Yorkshire Art Circus, a community based arts charity he helped create 15 years earlier, and formed Pontefract Press.

  • Brian Blessed

    Mexborough-born and the son of a coal miner, Brian Blessed's varied and distinguished career has made him one of the country's most highly respected actors.

  • Alison Nimmo CBE

    From July 2005 Alison Nimmo was tasked with establishing the Olympic Delivery Authority (IODA) and in July 2006 was appointed as director of design and regeneration.

  • Professor Alec Jenner

    Alec Jenner was Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Sheffield for 25 years. He established the Psychogeriatric services in Sheffield, as well as the Phoenix House, a therapeutic community house for the rehabilitation of drug addicts.

  • Alan Powell

    Alan Powell is well known in the world of journalism for his distinguished editorship of the Sheffield Telegraph, and latterly The Sheffield Star.

The degree of Doctor of the University (D.Univ) is awarded to people who have achieved distinction in the fields of learning, the arts, public life, community service and/or have made a distinctive contribution to Sheffield Hallam University, the city of Sheffield or the region. Nominations are invited annually from the University’s staff, students and Governors; we do not invite nominations from the public.

Sheffield Hallam University has been awarding honorary doctorates since gaining status as a university in 1993; it has been awarding honorary fellowships, based on similar criteria, since 1969.

See below for this year's honorary doctorates or you can also view the archive of honorary awards.

If you would like to find out more about our honorary award recipients, please email our press office.

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?