Skip to content

Honorary awards

  1. About us
  2. Our people
  3. Honorary awards

Honorary awards

  • Sir David Henshaw

    Sir David Henshaw was appointed chair of NHS North West in May, after more than six years as chief executive of Liverpool City Council where he was credited with transforming the city

  • Adam Boulton

    Adam is Sky TV's political editor with a long and distinguished career in journalism, and broadcast media in particular.

  • Professor David Hills

    David Hill studied metallurgy at Cambridge before going on to become a graduate apprentice in the steel industry in Sheffield.

  • Angela Galvin

    Angela Galvin, former chief executive of Sheffield Theatres, is the driving force behind the redevelopment of the city’s Crucible Theatre.

  • Professor Diana Green CBE

    Professor Diana Green retired as Vice-Chancellor of Sheffield Hallam University this year after nine years in the post.

  • Dominic West

    Dominic is a distinguished classical actor who became an international star through his portrayal of Detective Jimmy McNulty in the cult American TV series, The Wire.

  • Professor John Holman MA FRSC CChem HonFBAAS

    Professor Holman is one of the UK’s most widely respected science educators, with a major hand in many of the most influential curriculum development schemes of the past 25 years.

  • John Foster

    Foster is Managing Director of Barnsley-based Fosters Bakery, the small family business he started working in at the age of five, and has since grown it year on year to its current £10 million annual turnover.

  • Dr John Carlisle

    Twenty years ago in Sheffield John Carlisle pioneered a revolutionary approach to dramatic business improvement, that of instilling supply chain, or upstream, collaboration: a commonsense approach spectacularly absent from British industry at the time!

  • Joe Simpson

    Touching the Void, Joe Simpson's amazing story of grit and determination not to die in the Andes in 1985, has resulted in a best-selling book and the most successful British documentary in cinema history.

The degree of Doctor of the University (D.Univ) is awarded to people who have achieved distinction in the fields of learning, the arts, public life, community service and/or have made a distinctive contribution to Sheffield Hallam University, the city of Sheffield or the region. Nominations are invited annually from the University’s staff, students and Governors; we do not invite nominations from the public.

Sheffield Hallam University has been awarding honorary doctorates since gaining status as a university in 1993; it has been awarding honorary fellowships, based on similar criteria, since 1969.

See below for this year's honorary doctorates or you can also view the archive of honorary awards.

If you would like to find out more about our honorary award recipients, please email our press office.

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?