Skip to content

Honorary awards

  1. About us
  2. Our people
  3. Honorary awards

Honorary awards

  • Jenny Watson

    Jenny was appointed Chair of the Electoral Commission in 2009 and has had a long, varied and successful career in the voluntary, public and private sectors.

  • Joe Cocker

    Born and bred in Sheffield, Joe has built an international reputation as a singer and has been called the 'world's greatest blue's singer'. He made a well publicised recovery from drug dependency and now seeks to educate against the dangers of drugs.

  • Jarvis Cocker

    Jarvis Cocker is one of Sheffield's best loved musical sons and the founder of Pulp, who enjoyed an illustrious 24 year career after forming in the city in the late 1970s.

  • Janet Barnes

    Janet Barnes is Chief Executive of the York Museums Trust and has been a museum and art gallery professional for over 29 years.

  • Baroness Jane Campbell

    Baroness Jane Campbell has a long history of parliamentary lobbying for disabled people's civil and human rights and has been particularly active in creating structures which encourage disabled people from all sectors of society to take control of their lives and influence political and social change.

  • Jane Priestman OBE

    Jane Priestman has a distinguished career in design and design management. She is also a member of the panel that is going to be advising on the new building for the London Mayor and Assembly. Jane was awarded and OBE for her work in design.

  • James Toseland

    Doncaster-born motorcycle racer James Toseland became World Superbike Champion at just 23 and has been collecting titles since the age of 15.

  • Dr Ian Johnston

    Ian Johnston is a skilled and innovative leader in education who has made a major contribution to the finances and the future of Sheffield Hallam University.

  • Hilary Mantel CBE

    Hilary Mantel, who has recently made the headlines by winning one of fiction’s most prestigious prizes, is a visiting professor at Sheffield Hallam University.

  • Ian Sharratt

    Ian, an award winning architect, has had a distinguished career which began in 1976 when he joined the practice of Michael Hopkins and Partners.

The degree of Doctor of the University (D.Univ) is awarded to people who have achieved distinction in the fields of learning, the arts, public life, community service and/or have made a distinctive contribution to Sheffield Hallam University, the city of Sheffield or the region. Nominations are invited annually from the University’s staff, students and Governors; we do not invite nominations from the public.

Sheffield Hallam University has been awarding honorary doctorates since gaining status as a university in 1993; it has been awarding honorary fellowships, based on similar criteria, since 1969.

See below for this year's honorary doctorates or you can also view the archive of honorary awards.

If you would like to find out more about our honorary award recipients, please email our press office.

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?