Skip to content

  1. About us
  2. Our people
  3. Honorary awards

Honorary awards

  • Jonathan Crossley-Holland

    Jonathan Crossley-Holland was the Executive Director of Sheffield City Council for 11 years, eight of which were spent in charge of education services and three in charge of children and young people's services.

  • Christopher J Jewitt DL

    Christopher is a dedicated and active member of the South Yorkshire community. In 1994 he served as Master Cutler of the Company of Cutlers in Hallamshire and was appointed a Deputy Lieutenant for South Yorkshire in 1996.

  • Professor Sir Christopher Frayling

    A profile of Professor Sir Christopher Frayling, the well-known art historian, critic and broadcaster who was awarded an honorary degree by Sheffield Hallam in 2010

  • Dame Christine Beasley DBE

    Christine was appointed the Government's Chief Nursing Officer (CNO) in 2004 and is the Director General in the Department of Health for Professional Leadership and for Partnerships for Children, Families and Maternity.

  • Professor Chris Baines

    Chris Baines is one of the UK's leading independent environmentalists and an award winning writer and broadcaster.

  • Professor Andrew Motion - Poet Laureate

    Acclaimed poet, novelist, academic and biographer, Andrew Motion was appointed Poet Laureate in 1999.

  • Julie Kenny CBE DL

    Julie Kelly is recognised regionally and nationally for her contribution to business and commitment to helping young entrepreneurs achieve their potential,

  • John Foster

    Foster is Managing Director of Barnsley-based Fosters Bakery, the small family business he started working in at the age of five, and has since grown it year on year to its current £10 million annual turnover.

  • Dr John Carlisle

    Twenty years ago in Sheffield John Carlisle pioneered a revolutionary approach to dramatic business improvement, that of instilling supply chain, or upstream, collaboration: a commonsense approach spectacularly absent from British industry at the time!

  • John Mann

    A profile of John Mann, who was awarded an honarary doctorate at Sheffield Hallam University in 1980 for his contributions to UK education.

The degree of Doctor of the University (D.Univ) is awarded to people who have achieved distinction in the fields of learning, the arts, public life, community service and/or have made a distinctive contribution to Sheffield Hallam University, the city of Sheffield or the region. Nominations are invited annually from the University’s staff, students and Governors; we do not invite nominations from the public.

Sheffield Hallam University has been awarding honorary doctorates since gaining status as a university in 1993; it has been awarding honorary fellowships, based on similar criteria, since 1969.

See below for this year's honorary doctorates or you can also view the archive of honorary awards.

If you would like to find out more about our honorary award recipients, please email our press office.

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?