Osama El Sherif announced winner of the Jeremy Laskowski prize!

  1. Research
  2. Research areas
  3. Materials and Engineering Research Institute (MERI)
  4. News
  5. Osama El Sherif announced winner of the Jeremy Laskowski prize!

Osama El Sherif announced winner of the Jeremy Laskowski prize!

Monday 26 November 2012

We are delighted to announce that this year's Jeremy Laskowski prize for excellence in PhD research has been awarded to Osama el Sherif for the work undertaken towards his doctoral thesis 'Electrical Characterisation of Defects in Wide Bandgap Semiconductors'.

His work has already formed the basis of six publications and both of his examiners praised the quality and content of his thesis and the confidence and enthusiasm he showed in his viva.

Osama was originally supervised by Prof. Jan Evans-Freeman and Dr Karen Vernon-Parry. When Jan was appointed Pro-Vice Chancellor of the College of Engineering at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand, Prof. Dharmadasa joined the supervisory team.

A big congratulations goes out to all the MERI research students who have recently completed their research degrees!

This year MERI saw 15 of its research students complete their research degrees and gain either the Degree of Master of Philosophy or Doctor of Philosophy. The students are Farah Al-Khalidi, Harbi Daud, Dahiru Diso, Osama Elsherif, Lionel Joseph (Master of Philosophy), Ganesh Kamath, Khairuddin, Marco Matteo, Pavel Prybytak, Frank Burgin, Michael Barwood, Mansur Zaghinin, Wioletta Jablonska, Joan Saez-Pons and Arul Selvan.

Many attended the Graduation Ceremony held on the 16th November 2012 including members of MERI staff who thoroughly enjoyed watching the students from MERI graduate from the university. All the graduates did the research institute and the college proud and we hope that the same success can be continued next year!

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?