Higher Education at our Partner Colleges

Higher Education at our Partner Colleges

Sheffield Hallam works in partnership with a number of Further Education Colleges who provide University validated courses such as Foundation Degrees, Certificates of Higher Education (Cert HE), full degrees and Higher Technical Qualifications (HTQs). Upon successful completion of either a Foundation Degree, Cert HE or HTQ, you may then be able to ‘top up’ to a full honours degree at Sheffield Hallam.

Our validated courses are available in a range of subject areas including Art and Design, Media, Performing Arts, Public Services, Education, Sport, Business, Events & Tourism, Fashion, Health and Social Care, Games Design, Computing, Criminology, Photography and Engineering.

What is a Foundation Degree, Certificate in Higher Education and Higher Technical Qualification?

A Foundation Degree is typically a level 4/5 vocational qualification equivalent to the first and second year of an honours degree.  A Foundation Degree typically takes two years to complete with a further year 'top up' to make it a full honours degree.

A Certificate in Higher Education is typically a level 4 qualification and is equivalent to the first full year of a full-time degree programme.  Upon successful completion, you can typically progress on to a relevant full Bachelors Degree.

A Higher Technical Qualification (HTQ) is a level 4 or 5 qualification. HTQs are specialist technical courses that focus on the skills, knowledge and behaviour and will suit learners wanting a more practical, employer-led study programme. HTQs can also act as a stepping stone to further study, such as an apprenticeship or undergraduate degree. Find out more about HTQ's on the Government webpages.

Our Partner Colleges

Sheffield Hallam University validated courses are available at the following Colleges:

  • Barnsley College
  • Chesterfield College
  • Derby College Group
  • DN Colleges Group – Doncaster College and North Lindsey College
  • Loughborough College
  • RNN Group – Dearne Valley College, North Notts College and Rotherham College
  • UCEN Manchester
  • University Campus Oldham
  • The Sheffield College
  • The Trafford Colleges Group – Stockport College and Trafford College

To find out more about SHU validated courses available at our Partner colleges and entry requirements, please contact the college directly. Sheffield Hallam University is not responsible for the content of external websites


Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?