Skip to content

The Equality Act 2010

The Equality Act 2010

The Equality Act 2010 came into force on 1 October 2010 and strengthens and streamlines 40 years of equalities legislation. The stated aim of the Act is to reform and harmonise discrimination law, to help Britain become a fairer society, improve public services and enhance business performance.  

The Equality Act 2010 introduced nine 'protected characteristics', extending protection from discrimination from three to the nine equality areas listed below.

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion and belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation

Download further section of the Equality Act 2010 document (PDF, 83.9KB).

Share this page