Skip to content

The Equality Act 2010

The Equality Act 2010 came into force on 1 October 2010 and strengthens and streamlines 40 years of equalities legislation. The stated aim of the Act is to reform and harmonise discrimination law, to help Britain become a fairer society, improve public services and enhance business performance.  

The Equality Act 2010 introduced nine 'protected characteristics', extending protection from discrimination from three to the nine equality areas listed below.

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion and belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation

Download further section of the Equality Act 2010 document PDF (84KB).

Share this page

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?