Skip to content

Honorary awards

  1. About us
  2. Our people
  3. Honorary awards

Honorary awards

  • Adam Boulton

    Adam is Sky TV's political editor with a long and distinguished career in journalism, and broadcast media in particular.

  • Jenny Watson

    Jenny was appointed Chair of the Electoral Commission in 2009 and has had a long, varied and successful career in the voluntary, public and private sectors.

  • Dr Ian Johnston

    Ian Johnston is a skilled and innovative leader in education who has made a major contribution to the finances and the future of Sheffield Hallam University.

  • Helen Sharman

    Helen Sharman was Britain's first astronaut, launched into space as a crew member of the Anglo-Soviet Juno mission on 18 May 1991.

  • Joe Simpson

    Touching the Void, Joe Simpson's amazing story of grit and determination not to die in the Andes in 1985, has resulted in a best-selling book and the most successful British documentary in cinema history.

  • Joe Cocker

    Born and bred in Sheffield, Joe has built an international reputation as a singer and has been called the 'world's greatest blue's singer'. He made a well publicised recovery from drug dependency and now seeks to educate against the dangers of drugs.

  • Dominic West

    Dominic is a distinguished classical actor who became an international star through his portrayal of Detective Jimmy McNulty in the cult American TV series, The Wire.

  • Sir David Henshaw

    Sir David Henshaw was appointed chair of NHS North West in May, after more than six years as chief executive of Liverpool City Council where he was credited with transforming the city

  • Professor John Holman MA FRSC CChem HonFBAAS

    Professor Holman is one of the UK’s most widely respected science educators, with a major hand in many of the most influential curriculum development schemes of the past 25 years.

  • Karol Sikora

    Professor Karol Sikora, one of the world’s leading authorities on cancer and a pioneer of holistic cancer treatment, has published more than 300 papers and written and edited 20 books about cancer,

The degree of Doctor of the University (D.Univ) is awarded to people who have achieved distinction in the fields of learning, the arts, public life, community service and/or have made a distinctive contribution to Sheffield Hallam University, the city of Sheffield or the region. Nominations are invited annually from the University’s staff, students and Governors; we do not invite nominations from the public.

Sheffield Hallam University has been awarding honorary doctorates since gaining status as a university in 1993; it has been awarding honorary fellowships, based on similar criteria, since 1969.

See below for this year's honorary doctorates or you can also view the archive of honorary awards.

If you would like to find out more about our honorary award recipients, please email our press office.

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?