Skip to content

  1. About us
  2. Our people
  3. Honorary awards

Honorary awards

  • Seán Mahon FCA

    Seán Mahon has combined a career as a leading businessman with a commitment to rejuvenating deprived areas and helping disadvantaged groups in Yorkshire.

  • Quentin Thompson

    A profile of Quentin Thompson, a recognised national and international expert in the fields of strategy, policy and the management of higher education who was awarded an honorary degree by Sheffield Hallam University in 2007

  • Jarvis Cocker

    Jarvis Cocker is one of Sheffield's best loved musical sons and the founder of Pulp, who enjoyed an illustrious 24 year career after forming in the city in the late 1970s.

  • Jane Priestman OBE

    Jane Priestman has a distinguished career in design and design management. She is also a member of the panel that is going to be advising on the new building for the London Mayor and Assembly. Jane was awarded and OBE for her work in design.

  • Baroness Jane Campbell

    Baroness Jane Campbell has a long history of parliamentary lobbying for disabled people's civil and human rights and has been particularly active in creating structures which encourage disabled people from all sectors of society to take control of their lives and influence political and social change.

  • Hilary Mantel CBE

    Hilary Mantel, who has recently made the headlines by winning one of fiction’s most prestigious prizes, is a visiting professor at Sheffield Hallam University.

  • Graham Hughes

    Former Head of Design at the Royal Mint, craftsman also a qualified barrister. Honorary Fellow awarded in 1978.

  • Gary Hetherington

    Gary Hetherington is Chief Executive of Leeds Carnegie RUFC and Leeds Rugby Ltd, and owner and operator of Headingley Carnegie Stadium and Leeds Rhinos.

  • Emma Harrison

    Emma grew up in Sheffield and graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering from Bradford. In 1987, at the age of 23, she took over her father's Sheffield-based training agency ITA, which provided training and employment opportunities for workers made redundant in the declining steel industry.

  • Elisabeth Hoodless DBE

    Elisabeth qualified as a medical social worker, she was appointed Assistant Director of Community Service Volunteers in 1963, Deputy Director in 1972 and Executive Director in 1975.

The degree of Doctor of the University (D.Univ) is awarded to people who have achieved distinction in the fields of learning, the arts, public life, community service and/or have made a distinctive contribution to Sheffield Hallam University, the city of Sheffield or the region. Nominations are invited annually from the University’s staff, students and Governors; we do not invite nominations from the public.

Sheffield Hallam University has been awarding honorary doctorates since gaining status as a university in 1993; it has been awarding honorary fellowships, based on similar criteria, since 1969.

See below for this year's honorary doctorates or you can also view the archive of honorary awards.

If you would like to find out more about our honorary award recipients, please email our press office.

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?