Skip to content

  1. About us
  2. Our people
  3. Honorary awards

Honorary awards

  • Dame Margaret Drabble DBE CBE

    As a novelist, Margaret has cast her sharp and intellectual eye on life, particularly on women's lives, in seventeen novels from A Summer Bird Cage (1963) to the thought-provoking The Sea Lady (2007).

  • Mark Herbert

    As Chief Executive Officer of Sheffield-based Warp Films, Mark Herbert has produced some of the UK’s most acclaimed films of recent years, including This is England, Dead Man's Shoes and Four Lions.

  • Malorie Blackman

    Malorie Blackman has been hitting headlines since the release of her latest novel Checkmate, the story of a mixed-race teenage girl who trains to become a suicide bomber.

  • Lord Broers FREng FRS DL

    Lord Broers is a distinguished engineer who spent his research career working on the use of electrons, x-rays and light optical systems for microscopy and for the fabrication of microelectronic components.

  • The Right Reverend John (Jack) Nicholls, Lord Bishop of Sheffield

    Always known as 'Jack', the Bishop of Sheffield was educated at Bacup and Rawtenstall Grammar School, Rossendale and King's College, London, where he graduated in 1966, before moving on to St Boniface College, Warminster.

  • Lisa Jardine

    Professor Lisa Jardine has enjoyed phenomenal success as a scholar, historian, writer, critic, and broadcaster.

  • The Honourable Mrs Justice Dobbs DBE

    Linda Dobbs was appointed a High Court Judge in October 2004, becoming the first person from an ethnic minority to reach such a level of the judiciary in this country.

  • Dame Kelly Holmes

    Kelly Holmes was born in Kent but has a special connection with Sheffield, training in the city before her gold medal winning exploits at the 2004 Athens Olympics and choosing to run her final race before retirement at Don Valley Stadium.

  • Kay Mellor

    Kay Mellor is an acclaimed writer responsible for some of TV's most remarkable dramas. Her work has been produced for stage, television and feature film. Born and brought up in Leeds she firmly believes that Yorkshire provides a rich inspiration for her characters.

  • Kath Hetherington

    Born and raised in Featherstone, the daughter of a colliery miner and only girl of a family of five, three of her brothers played professional Rugby League with Wakefield Trinity; Leeds and Great Britain, Kath was destined to be involved with sport and Rugby League.

The degree of Doctor of the University (D.Univ) is awarded to people who have achieved distinction in the fields of learning, the arts, public life, community service and/or have made a distinctive contribution to Sheffield Hallam University, the city of Sheffield or the region. Nominations are invited annually from the University’s staff, students and Governors; we do not invite nominations from the public.

Sheffield Hallam University has been awarding honorary doctorates since gaining status as a university in 1993; it has been awarding honorary fellowships, based on similar criteria, since 1969.

See below for this year's honorary doctorates or you can also view the archive of honorary awards.

If you would like to find out more about our honorary award recipients, please email our press office.

Cancel event

Are you sure you want to cancel your place on Saturday 12 November?